First Degree Assault in Maryland
First degree assault is one of the most serious charges that can be brought against a person in Maryland. It can be a felony and carry a maximum of 25 years in prison.
In order to be convicted of first degree assault in Maryland, a jury or judge must find that the defendant committed a serious physical injury to another person. That is, an injury that created a substantial risk of death or serious permanent or prolonged disfigurement.
What is First Degree Assault?
First degree assault is one of the more serious types of assault in Maryland. It requires that the prosecutor prove a person intentionally caused or attempted to cause serious physical injury to another.
The state defines serious bodily injury as any condition that results in an increased risk of death, a permanent loss or impairment of any organ or function, or disfigurement. Any time a person is charged with first-degree assault in Maryland, it is important to speak with a Maryland criminal defense attorney immediately.
First degree assault is a felony in Maryland, punishable by up to 25 years in prison. The best way to get the charges down to a misdemeanor is to work with an experienced criminal defense lawyer right away.
What is the Penalties for First Degree Assault?
In Maryland, first degree assault is a felony that is punishable by up to 25 years in prison. It can also carry collateral consequences, such as a lifetime of difficulty finding employment and a ban on owning a firearm.
In order to be convicted of first degree assault, the prosecutor must prove that you caused serious physical injury to another person. This is the type of injury that creates a substantial risk of death, or causes permanent or protracted disfigurement or the loss or impairment of a bodily function.
Moreover, you must have intended to cause this serious injury. This is called the element of intent.
In the event you are charged with first degree assault in Maryland, it is important to hire a skilled College Park criminal lawyer who can build a strong defense for you. You may be able to avoid the harsh penalties that come with a conviction.
What is the Element of Intent in First Degree Assault?
First degree assault is a felony in Maryland and is based on the intent to cause serious physical injury. The State needs to prove that the defendant knowingly committed or attempted to commit first degree assault with the specific intent of causing serious physical injury.
This can include injuries that are so severe that they cause death, disfigurement, amputation, loss of an organ or any other impairment in a body part or organ. In addition, a defendant can be charged with first degree assault even if the victim was only slightly injured.
The crime of first degree assault is typically used in situations where the defendant was acting in self-defense or to protect other people from harm. However, it is also used in situations where the defendant aided and abetted another person in committing the assault.
What is the Penalties for Attempting First Degree Assault?
First degree assault is a serious offense in Maryland that can carry very harsh penalties if you are convicted. This is why it is so important to hire a criminal defense attorney as soon as you are aware that you may be under investigation or facing charges.
A felony conviction for first degree assault is punishable by up to 25 years in prison. In addition to the time behind bars, fines and restitution may be assessed.
In order to win a first degree assault charge, the State must prove that you did or attempted to do something that caused a serious physical injury. The type of injury must include a substantial risk of death, or serious permanent disfigurement or impairment of the function of a bodily member or organ.
These types of cases are often incredibly complex and can come down to many details. This is why it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney like Benjamin Herbst as soon as possible. He can build a solid case and help you fight your charges in court.